Community Development Block Grants


The Small Cities Community Development Block Grant Program a program of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development designed to help communities address critical needs that benefit low- to moderate-income households.  Grants may be used to purchase, construct, or rehabilitate affordable housing; construct public infrastructure such as culinary water systems, roads, or wastewater systems; or purchase or property or improvements for non-profit service organizations. BRAG administers the Small Cities program in the communities of Box Elder, Cache, and Rich Counties, excluding Logan City, which is an HUD entitlement community and receives its own funding allocation.

Funding is formally distributed through the State of Utah, Division of Housing & Community Development, but BRAG administers the application process and rates and ranks applicants from its region using a scoring system that reflects local priorities.

Additional information on the application process and a history of past projects can be found at the State CDBG website:

Organizations interested in applying for CDBG funds must attend the mandatory How To Apply workshop.

The 2022 Program Year How To Apply workshop will be held on:
Thursday, October 28th at 3:30 p.m.

This year, to accommodate public health guidelines, the training will be provided simultaneously in-person and online.

The in-person workshop will be held in the rear Main Floor Conference Room at:

Bear River Association of Governments Cache County Office
170 North Main
Logan, Utah 84321

Online participation will be facilitated through Zoom. A link will be provided when you RSVP.

You must RSVP for this event. In-person seating will be provided first-come, first-served. Online participation will require authentication.

Contact Brian Carver, CDBG Program Specialist at (435) 752-7242 to RSVP or for more information.

The BRAG Score sheet is available here: 2022 BRAG FINAL CDBG Rating & Ranking Application

Applications will be due to the State of Utah on January 31st, 2022 at 5:00 p.m. MST.